Setting up the Library

Leave a comment

September 5, 2012 by tabithaj

Setting up the library for a new year is still a daunting task. Although I feel like I have a better grasp of what I need to do than I did five years ago. The first and most important thing I do is my task list. It grows daily, but it is nice to have some things accomplished and crossed off that list.

This year’s list of Things To Do looks like this:

Respectable Use Policy

Bulletin Board

Plan Community building games/activities and read alouds for first library classes

Plan Curricular goals based on each grades theme and concept for this semester using UBD

Plan Banned Books Week

Finalize Calendar

Check Magazines Orders

Set up library classroom

Send in book order

Set up work-study job opening with University

Change student info-wait until first Friday of school

Clean up library

Display books

Call NYTimes

Set up the Volume Purchasing Program

Send in Presentation Proposal for teach21 and Computers in Libraries

Schedule Meetings in the library

Some of these things are never really checked off the list. I always have a book order I am working on…otherwise, I wouldn’t be doing my job of keeping the children buried in good books!

Leave a Reply

Pages